Day 5 : Erin

By: Erin Wilson

Apr 05 2010

Category: picture spring, posted by erin

4 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/3200 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

“Try setting your camera on the ground today to shoot for a whole new (and often surprising) view of the world around you.”

I don’t even think I can express how wonderful it was to be at the beach today. Not my usual beach. Not the sand beach where I spent every summer of my childhood, and every angst-filled teenage evening. No, this is a rock beach a close drive to my current home. And it had all the important ingredients today: sun, waves, and the loud sound of surf.

It also happened to be very windy today, so I wanted to be careful in my choice of gear even though I wasn’t at a sand beach. I decided against a zoom lens… too much potential for disaster there. And I resisted using a wide lens, which has been my go-to for the last couple months. I settled on the 50mm, which I almost never use. I ended up having a lot of fun with it.

Spending time looking at things up close, I took a look at more than the beach and made a few promises to myself while lying out there on the rocks:
-no more excuses
-no more apologizing for shooting dark shots or black and white
-more time at the beach
-much more time at the beach

4 comments on “Day 5 : Erin”

  1. Oh. My. Goodness.
    This is so so beautiful, Erin! Breathtaking. The details, the DOF, the decision to process it in b&w (no surprise here 🙂
    And I’m so glad to hear you had such a good time at the beach, that this day off included sun, fun while shooting, and some beautiful and important thoughts…. And again you managed to take a picture without flowers 🙂

  2. lol… Not taking photos of flowers is easy, because despite the warm weather it’s still too early for flowers here! Mostly brown bare sticks everywhere you look.

    This small stretch of beach is made up of nothing but these tiny shells. So I was lying on them as I was shooting. It was a strange feeling.

    And I think I’ve finally embraced my inner b & w lover. Why not?! 🙂

  3. True: why not? There is absolutely nothing wrong about it!
    But nevertheless I’m curious, and I would love to see this pic in colour! Would you mind posting it on flickr, maybe? Just for me, lol?

  4. I just popped it up there (family only). I could have worked with the colour more, but it just doesn’t feel like a colour shot to me. lol.


Leave a Reply

