Day 14 : Erin

By: Erin Wilson

Apr 14 2010

Category: picture spring, posted by erin

2 Comments

Aperture:f/3.2
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/1250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

“Take a painterly approach to capturing a spring scene today by shooting out of focus (on purpose).”

This was really hard. I’m quite used to shooting out of focus, but it’s usually an accident. Quite a different matter to do it on purpose! It was hard to decide just how out of focus to make it…

ps. I’m not a fan of this green framing… eeek.

2 comments on “Day 14 : Erin”

  1. I’m sitting at the airport in Cologne, waiting for my flight to Milan, and looking at your pic that’s giving me an idea of the Canadian Spring… ha, now that is international, don’t you think?
    Shooting out of focus on purpose is hard, but you did an excellent job, Erin! I love that I can still recognize what I’m looking at, see grass, trees, blue sky… I imagine me laying on a blanket, opening my eyes after a little nap – I guess this is what I would see 🙂
    (I had an idea for this one already, but my G10 doesn’t focus manually (at least I don’t know how) so this one has to wait, too.)

  2. I didn’t realize until much later that I made a silly mistake when shooting this. Had a shallow dof. Very hard to control the focus, even out-of-focus, when shooting up a hill. If I had closed down the lens, I wouldn’t have had to shift the focus so dramatically to lose detail in the grass. Live and learn lol.

    Looking forward to seeing your shot… I guess it won’t be an Italian image though. If you’re stuck there for extra time, I hope you’re able to use a little of it to rest + shoot.


Leave a Reply

