Day 25 : Erin

By: Erin Wilson

Apr 25 2010

Category: picture spring, posted by erin

1 Comment

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:250
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

“Find a shot, that you love, that was captured by another photographer. Admire it, study it and get inspired. Use that shot as a springboard into shooting a specific subject matter, a unique angle, or using a similar processing technique… Just remember to bring yourself into the process so the end result has some of what only you can bring to it.”

Not sure how I fared with this one. Because it’s such a dark and rainy day outside today, I wanted to try a still life. And once I’d settled on that, it was straight to Kim Carney’s series In A Vase. I love these images, and I don’t think I’ve ever failed to smile when she posts a new one.

Kim picks flowers from her west coast yard. Not an option for me. I bought them at the grocery store this afternoon, but chose poorly. I went for colour, when I should have been looking for heads that stood straight up. And while Kim has developed quite a collection of vases… lol, there was little choice here.

So, in keeping with the spirit of Kim’s images, I photographed a stem in a vase. My approach was to shoot from above, creating an abstract. I played with a few shots in black and white, but the lighting was too dark, and just couldn’t pull it off.

One comment on “Day 25 : Erin”

  1. LOL! The flowers have been in fresh water for a day now and look completely different. Poor things were dehydrated. Funny thing is that they are much paler in colour now too. So I’ll stick with the sad droopy look 🙂


Leave a Reply

